Wall Murals in Quarteira

I don’t like seeing vandalism of any sort, including graffiti, but for me, murals are different. They are usually great pieces of art work, and I almost always love the messages they express. Like with all murals, everyone interprets them differently. Here are some I saw walking on the way to Quarteira and what I think they mean; some are just for fun, but others are a little more powerful.

Photo 08-03-2015 12 31 22

I really like this one (after having later translated it into English). It is a quote from the Portuguese poet Fernando Pessoa, and after translating it, I understand it to mean ‘Freedom is the possibility of isolation. If it is impossible for you to live alone, you were born a slave’. I interpret this to mean that it’s good to be able to spend time alone and enjoy your own company without having to depend on other people all the time. I might be completely wrong, but I like what [i’ve decided] it stands for.

Photo 08-03-2015 14 58 49

I am not 100% sure what this one is/supposed to be, but there’s something about it I love.

Photo 08-03-2015 15 47 42

I see this one as a powerful brand/company/organisation/society trying to ‘brainwash’ everyone, to get them thinking, looking, wearing and behaving the same as everyone else; taking away their individuality and uniqueness.

Photo 08-03-2015 15 47 53

This one is by far my favourite, and I love it because its the exact opposite of the one above. It screams creativity! It screams that imagination knows no bounds!  We live in a world that has been taken over by technology and I think we all need to be reminded sometimes that we already have more than enough entertainment within us.

Photo 08-03-2015 12 32 50

Photo 08-03-2015 15 45 43

Top Cat and Cow and Chicken. two of my favourite cartoons when I was younger!


Leave a Reply

