2016 – Get Fit with Fitbit Walking Challenges

Just before Christmas, a friend introduced me to Fitbit. I’d previously never heard of them, and have now bought 2 in a week! This post isn’t a review of the product, but about how in just a few days I’ve changed my mindset and am ready to dive into 2016 with an easy way to keep fit.

For those of you who don’t know, a Fitbit is a small rubber watch you wear around your wrist, which measures how many steps you take daily, distance, calories burned, sleep and other things. It sounds like a fancy kind of pedometer, but with the Fitbit app on your phone, you are opened to the possibilities of Challenges, and this is the bit I love!

fitbit

So my friend also has one, and we now do a challenge every day; you can choose from a range including, daily steps, weekend warrior, work week hustle and lots more! It’s a great feature, but for me at least it’s the thing that’s keeping me going! I am a very lazy person in general and don’t do anywhere near the amount of exercise I should, but – unfortunately – I just don’t care that much! But, I HATE losing… so this is where the Challenges really help!

IMG_9127

For one of my New Years Resolutions, the same as every one else, is to be healthier (again). For me, healthier doesn’t mean skinnier or to weigh less, but just to move more and eat better, so I can’t wait to kick off 2016 with these Fitbit Challenges!

I started off with a Fitbit Flex for a trial, but was so happy with it that on Christmas day I ordered a Charge HR which was conveniently on sale! I really recommend people to give a Fitbit I try, as you might be more active than you think – cleaning the house and general day to day work might have you moving around more than the average Joe, where as some people are not even close to hitting the recommended 10,000 steps per day!

One of my favourite features of the Fitbit is that you collect badges when you hit certain milestones. As someone who loves to travel, I find the badge names really exciting and motivating. For example, when you hit 250 miles (during your lifetime, not in one day!), you will get the London Underground Badge, as it’s the same distance as the underground train tracks. There are many of these including the Great Wall of China, The River Nile and the Serengeti, just to name a few. Personally I think that’s a really cool twist on just counting your steps.

My friend and I took it so seriously that on Christmas day we both left our respecting families to go for walks around the block in a last minute bid to out do each other! Very sad we know, but we both enjoyed the rivalry and at least we got extra steps in to burn off a fraction of the Christmas dinner!! If you are interested in who won, she did, with LITERALLY 5 seconds to go!! (The challenge ends at midnight.) Needless to say we haven’t spoken since… I’m joking! But we have decided that come the New Year we will each put in £5, and every Friday, whoever has done the most steps will win the extra fiver! We will get fitter with a little extra money at the same time! Bring on 2015!

If anyone got a Fitbit for Christmas or is wanting to get one, feel free to add me on any walking Challenges – the more the merrier, well, tougher the goal! Just one warning, the Fitbit walking Challenges could bring out your competitive sides, so be ready! Anyone who wants to join a challenge, add me via email address: zoe.mayling@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

